Chair in Supply Chain Management, Faculty of Business Administration, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Chair in Supply Chain Management
Competition Number: VPA-BUSI-2014-002

The Faculty of Business Administration is committed to excellence and relevance in its teaching, research and community engagement. Applications are invited for an externally supported chaired faculty position in Supply Chain Management.

This is a tenured or tenure track position at the rank of associate or full professor with a proposed commencement date of July 1, 2017. Salary and academic rank will be commensurate with qualifications and experience. The position is subject to budgetary approval.

Applicants should have a PhD and have relevant experience and a research record commensurate with the expectations for a research Chair in one or more of the following areas: transportation and logistics management, tendering, strategic sourcing, procurement and purchasing, materials/inventory management, enterprise resource planning, supply market analysis, supplier and contract management, supply chain management strategy (including lean SCM), and global supply chain management. The chair will be expected to provide research and teaching leadership, teach undergraduate and graduate courses, conduct research in supply chain management, and establish an externally funded research program in supply chain management. The chair will be expected to supervise graduate students through the FBA’s PhD and MSc programs. He or she will have the ability to work collegially and collaboratively within the university and with the business community.

Preference will be given to candidates with experience and expertise relevant to supply chain management needs in Newfoundland and Labrador. These include integration of local businesses into global supply chains and challenges associated with the offshore petroleum industry, mining, and arctic and harsh environments. The chair will be expected to build upon existing institutional research strengths, the strong relationship between the Faculty of Business Administration and the Faculties of Science and of Engineering and Applied Science at Memorial University, and lead a research program in areas that are strategically important for Memorial University and the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Faculty of Business Administration is a leader in management education and is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB). Approximately 1,300 students are registered in the undergraduate programs of the Faculty, with another 200 students completing graduate programs, including a PhD and MSc in Management. For additional information about our Faculty, please visit our web site at

Memorial University is Newfoundland and Labrador’s only university, and plays an integral role in the educational and cultural life of the province. Offering diverse undergraduate and graduate programs to over 18,000 students, Memorial provides a distinctive and stimulating environment for learning. St. John’s is a safe, friendly city with great historic charm, a vibrant cultural life, and easy access to a wide range of outdoor activities. For further information about Memorial, please visit

The deadline to receive applications is December 1, 2016. Applications should include a curriculum vita, cover letter, names and addresses of three referees, statements of teaching and research interests, a statement of their objectives for the position and how they would achieve it, and three selected recent research publications. Please send applications electronically to:

Dr. Wilfred Zerbe, Dean
Faculty of Business Administration
Memorial University of Newfoundland
St. John’s, Newfoundland, Canada, A1B 3X5
For further information telephone (709) 864-8851 or fax (709) 864-2467 or e-mail

All qualified candidates are encouraged to apply; however, citizens and permanent residents of Canada will be given priority. Memorial University is committed to employment equity and encourages applications from qualified women and men, visible minorities, Aboriginal people and persons with disabilities.